Connecting with the Past

Today I had the privilege of preaching at Bosquevill UMC, a small rural/country church on the edge of Waco. It was one of the most welcoming churches I have ever been to. My parents were wonderful and came up to hear me preach and they were greeted by almost every congregant. The church reminded me of stories my dad would tell me about the churches he went to growing up.

After the service I was walking out of the church with my dad and he pauses to say, “this is the kind of church my dad was lay pastor/preacher for.” There was a sense of pride and reminiscence in his voice and demeanor.

For me this wasn’t just a random story my dad chose to share with me but it was meaningful for me for two reasons. The first is that I have never met my granddad and haven’t heard too many stories about him. The stories dad has shared, however, have been around how he was a great lay pastor/preacher. The second reason is that I am named after my grandad. So for me this comment from my dad today was a way for me to live up to my name in a whole new way.

I’m not sure my granddad ever pictured one of his grandchildren becoming a preacher/pastor (and who knows if I will), let alone a granddaughter named after him. I hope in some way I made him proud today!

Here’s to the man whose middle name I hold!

2 thoughts on “Connecting with the Past

  1. Love this!

    And I love that it’s a story about Bosqueville. My grandparents live in China Spring and were at the Baptist church for a long time; it’s such a hospitable place (and they take good care of those lay pastors!).

Leave a Reply

