Happy 25th Birthday, twice…

There are times in my life when I get to be surrounded by people who know me. You know those people who know the best and worst of you and love you all the more for it. I am receiving the best 25th birthday present by having two weekends in a row be spent with those who really know me.

This past weekend I went home to Texas to see my one month old niece, her parents, my parents, and another sister’s family. These are people who know me and know how to feed my soul. There may be areas of my life where they don’t know the ins-and-outs but they don’t need to in order to be there for me. The details for them are add on’s, not requirements. For better or for worse my family is there for me. They are learning to allow me to be the growing adult that I am and love me through our differences. For all the crazy and gong show-ness that my family is I can thankfully say they will always be there for me when I need them. They are my true loves. This past weekend was a great way to celebrate the 25 years I have been with them.

As my birthday is only a week away I have friends coming to visit me this coming weekend. The two radiant women who will grace me with their presences are two people who have been in my life the past 12 years. Both of these women are kindred spirits and know my heart no matter how crazy the beat of my heart gets. One of these ladies has survived a junior high “we’re not friends anymore” situation and the other has been the chaperon for the other friend and myself on our senior trip (Sorry Tiki I couldn’t help but mention it). All three of us were leaders in the FBC Magnolia youth group when we were in it. All three of us have lived through joys and pains of family together. All three of us have remained friends as our journeys took us further apart geographically. All three of us have grown into strong, vivacious, confident, and competent women and the world is a better place for it. I will get to spend two days with these women and we will share stories of our lives and my soul will be fed.

To be with those who know  you, who really know you, is just a gift! What more could a girl ask for on her 25th birthday than to have two weekends in a row with people who know her?! Nothing, I could ask for nothing more.

Leave a Reply

