“Wo”man in the mirror

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself and then make a change” – Michael Jackson’s Man In the Mirror 1987

These words provoke one’s heart strings to tug and stir a desire for change in people’s lives. The music video brings the words to life as it depicts the pains and heartaches of the world. When danced this song captures the joy of a person taking a stand for justice, all the while portraying the anguish this journey takes.

I’ve heard this song many times before but these specific lyrics came to mind this evening as I left two of my dear friends for the night. As I drove down the dimly lit streets of Waco these words came to me as my mind wondered and pondered the prayer said by one friend and expressed in tears by the other.

For many of years the woman in my mirror has been the source of heartache and the desire for change in my life. Yet, if I wish for this change to take place anywhere else than with the woman staring back at me I am wishing on a star that has lost its light. The change I desire will not come from another person’s words or approving eyes; no that would be too easy. The change that I seek, the change that I deserve, will come from the woman starring back at me. Here the challenge is found.

Prior to this evening the lyrics of Man In The Mirror always cast my desire for change to the worldly spectrum but I was reminded this evening that the change, at times, has to to be cast to the spectrum of the man, or woman in this case, in the mirror. If I desire change than I have to be willing to have that change take place within and for me.

Take a few seconds, read the lyrics and seek wisdom on how to bring forth change.

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself and then make a change”

May the words of this song stimulate action in our lives: intimately, individually, communally, nationally, universally.

With the Lords help let us bring forth change to ALL that has been created.

3 thoughts on ““Wo”man in the mirror

  1. Love this my friend, your writing is so elegant and poinant. I love reading it!
    Although I must admit while reading the title “wo”man I instantly pictured Kasey telling you that MJackson obviously was only writing this song for men because they are the only ones capable of change…or something to that effect. 🙂 haha!

    • Oh Katie your thought was right on. I have no doubt that Kasey would have said something witty like that. This makes me all the more excited to have class with you both in the Fall.

Leave a Reply

